



Chief Delegate leads delegates to Muela Hydropower Station



The chief delegate of the Lesotho Highlands Development Authority Mr. Mafiroane Motanyane, led a team of delegates in a two day educational tour to the T'sehlanyane Adit, Ngoajane flow metering chambers and Muela Hydropower station which took place on the 05 and 07 June 2024 respectively.

The purpose of the trip was to acquire deeper understanding on the waternetwork from Katse to Muela hydropower station and South Africa as well as the technologies used for metering water before being transferred to the Republic of South Africa. Furthermore, the delegation wanted to understand operational relationship between Lesotho Highlands Development Authority and Trans-Caledon tunnel, specifically on the aspect of data related to water transfer which relates directly to royalties the government of Lesotho is entitled to.





On the same logic, socio-economic impact of the branch within Muela catchment area, engineering projects such as the six months outage, mitigation policy measures in place for livelihood restoration programs and integrated catchment management programs were among the core themes around the interest of the delegation. They further emphasised keen interest in socio-economic progress within the project area; the positive impact the Lesotho Highlands Water Project has on affected communities.

In addressing the staff at Muela on behalf of the delegation, the Chief Delegate, Mr.Motanyane highlighted his impression with the commitment he observed in their first tour which ended at 8pm before briefly narrating that ancillary development forms part of the key pillars of the Project to achieve mutual benefit of both parties.

"The commitment of staff in our first trip here uplifts our hope for the efficient execution of the Treaty because staff is the primary pillar of such mandate. I therefore encourage you to keep this commitment- of working tirelessly and hand in hand as culture of this organization. I hope this trip marks the beginning of our interaction and not our last trip here,"he said.

The delagation composed of Chief Delegate, Mr. Mafiroane Motanyane, Mr. Tsepiso Mofolo, Mr. Seutloali Makhetha, Mr. Moroke Ntene, Mrs Mamphanya Mahao and Dr. Thabiso Mokotjomela.